Wong’s Corner

Wife: I don’t know if it’s a good idea to use Wong Jing as your header.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Wong’s Corner

  1. Kingwho? says:

    hahaha Put Wong Jing back!!!! hahaha

    • smirk2u says:

      We will see my friend.

      He has been drumming up some traffic on the blog so it might not be a bad idea.

  2. Martin says:

    I don’t know, maybe she has a point!

  3. I’d say create an entire blog to reviewing every Wong Jing production.

  4. err…”dedicated” to reviewing. It’s too early!

  5. Martin says:

    You are rather biased though Kingwho?, No?

    • Kingwho? says:

      I don’t know if i’m biased or not? I’m actually not a big Wong Jing fan but I do believe that he gets a bad rap. I’m of the position that he is extremely business savy and kept HK cinema rolling through it’s dog days. For the better. But I can also see the flip side of the argument. But, I would prefer to have Wong Jing than not have Wong Jing.

      • smirk2u says:

        Same here. I’m not the biggest fan of Jing but I do like what he represents. For better or for worst, he just knows how to get a movie made. Now with that being said, I sometimes think his earlier films are a little over praised for their ingenuity. The guy is known as the King of Ideas in Hk, man that just seems a little too much. His biggest strength is that he knows how to adapt to an industry that’s constantly changing.

        Has anyone seen Jing’s Crying Heart? That’s one of his I like a lot.

  6. Martin says:

    Adaptability is great and I do agree he has been important in helping to keep HK cinema afloat, but it speaks volumes that he felt he had to go uncredited on many of the biggest films he has been involved with!

    But yes, on oath Jing or no Jing then I take Jing!

  7. Kingwho? says:

    Do you mean it speaks volumes to his credit that he has gone uncredited? If so, I would agree. He most recently went uncredited as a producer for Ann Hui’s amazing, and award winning, The way We Are. For him to go uncredited for such a highly regarded film, I think that paints Jing in a positive light.

  8. Martin says:

    It could be seen either way, it really is to his credit that he was willing to be uncredited on some really great movies, The Way we are in particular is a great movie. Against that though it can’t be good that he thinks his own name would actually put people off from seeing an Ann Hui film!

  9. Kingwho? says:

    Yes, back in the day he and Ann had a little tiff. Ken mentions it on the podcast. Wong Jing had once said, “Who wants to watch the autobiography of a fat woman?”, speaking about Hui’s film, SONG OF THE EXILE.

Leave a Reply

